Talking Heads – Heatwave Festival Toronto, ON – 08/23/1980

Talking Heads
08/23/1980 Heatwave Festival, Toronto, ON

1. Intro
2. Psycho Killer
3. Warning Sign
4. Stay Hungry
5. Cities
6. Band Introduction
7. I Zimbra
8. Once In A Lifetime
9. Houses In Motion
10. Born Under Punches
11. Crosseyed and Painless
12. Life During Wartime
13. Take Me To The River

Band Members:
David Byrne – vocals, Chris Frantz – drums, Tina Weymouth – synthesizer, bass, Jerry Harrison – guitar, synthesizer
Additional Musicians:
Adrian Belew – guitar, Dolette MacDonald – percussion, vocals, Busta Jones – bass, Bernie Worrell – keyboards, Steve Scales – percussion

This is a rare, excellent AUD recording that captures the Talking Heads’ headlining set at the Heatwave Festival on August 23, 1980.  This show contains a few firsts for the band and marks a pivotal turning point in the band’s legendary career- This is the first time the Heads performed with an extended live band and not as a quartet, and was the first show played in support of the instant classic, Remain In Light album.  Several Heads’ staples played in the set include Psycho Killer, Cities, Once in a Lifetime, Crosseyed and Painless, Life During Wartime, and Take Me to the River.  Also, check out how insanely funky the Born Under Punches intro is.  This is a must download for any Talking Heads fans out there.

~ by cdowell4 on January 22, 2010.

6 Responses to “Talking Heads – Heatwave Festival Toronto, ON – 08/23/1980”

  1. One stop shop for awesome Talking Heads’ shows.

    Thanks!

  2. […] the big brown chunk I’d been making my way through during the day).  Amazingly, I recently found an online bootleg of this show that has long been very special to me.  The recording is actually pretty good, and it is a truly […]

  3. any chance of a repost of the download? would make my (2 arms in plaster forced) 6 week holiday

  4. I was at this gig. You described it PERFECTLY. I had seen the Heads (just the core four) that previos November (on my 18th birthday, wonderfully) in a college gym. Seeing the magic of the new band and sound was incredible.

  5. […] the big brown chunk I’d been making my way through during the day).  Amazingly, I recently found an online bootleg of this show that has long been very special to me.  The recording is actually pretty good, and it is a truly […]

  6. […] the big brown chunk I’d been making my way through during the day).  Amazingly, I recently found an online bootleg of this show that has long been very special to me.  The recording is actually pretty good, and it is a truly […]

Leave a comment