Under the Radar: The Whitest Boy Alive

The Whitest Boy Alive is a synth-pop group based out of Berlin, Germany. The band comprises singer/guitarist Erlend Øye, who is also a member of the band Kings of Convenience, bassist Marcin Öz, drummer Sebastian Maschat, and Daniel Nentwig on Rhodes piano and Crumar.  The group started out as an electronic dance music project similar to LCD Soundsystem, but have since developed into a progressive pop band with no programmed elements.  Their most recent album, Rules, contains no overdubs and each track was cut live in-studio.

The band creates a whimsical pop soundscape built around smooth electric piano changes and funky bass flourishes that remain locked in with a pulsating kick drum throughout the entire album.  This leaves plenty of space for Øye to accompany the tight backbeat with simple, yet pleasurable melodies on the guitar that add a delicate balance to the music.  The end result is a mid-tempo wave of fluid and cerebral pop music that you can easily bob your head to without skipping a single track.  The band has tirelessly toured througout Europe, and we’ll keep you updated if they plan on making their way over to the States.


If you like what you hear, take the jump for some links and videos.

The Whitest Boy Alive – Rules
01. Keep A Secret
02. Intentions
03. Courage
04. Timebomb
05. Rollercoaster Ride
06. High On The Heels
07. 1517
08. Gravity
09. Promise Less Or Do More
10. Dead End
11. Island


~ by cdowell4 on June 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: