Axiom Funk – Funkcronomicon

Producer Bill Laswell‘s Axiom project Axiom Funk was launched under the auspices of a “supergroup,” and was certainly one of the most far-reaching and vibrant collections of funk to emerge — astonishingly long after the genre’s heyday. P-Funk keyboardist Bernie Worrell was initially the flashpoint for the project’s Laswell/Parliament/Herbie Hancock core, his associations fortuitously coalescing just as Laswell was striving to expand his Axiom empire. Bringing together key players from all decades, he then twisted the mix with clever combinations of newly recorded material and sessions recorded long ago but never released. The Sly Stone tracks were recorded during Maceo Parker‘s All the Kings Men period, while the Eddie Hazel tracks were among the last he ever recorded, shortly before his death in late 1992. In all its guises, however, Funkcronomicon is a masterpiece. From the old-school jams of George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Worrell, and Hazel to Hancock‘s jazzed-out funk and the righteously fresh sounds of reggae rhythm section Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, this fat double disc really packs a punch. Add the alternative rock stylings of Anton Fier, best known for his work with the Feelies and the Golden Palominos, and the resulting brew is almost unbelievable. Tracks previously released — “Cosmic Slop,” “Pray My Soul,” “Sacred to the Pain,” “Sax Machine,” “Telling Time,” and “Tell the World” — are cunningly interspersed with new and unreleased material. And, in the end, although old and new schools rub smooth shoulders, it’s hard to tell where one ends and another begins.  This album has been out of print for awhile now, so be sure to take the jump for links and credits.

Axiom Funk – Funkcronomicon
01. Order Within The Universe (written by Bernie Worrell, Bill Laswell) 3:17
02. Under The Influence (Jes Grew) (written by George Clinton, B Laswell, B Collins, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare) 5:45
03. If 6 Was 9 (written by Jimi Hendrix) 6:00
04. Orbitron Attack (written by Grace Cook [a pseudonym for Eddie Hazel]) 12:29
05. Cosmic Slop (written by G Clinton, B Worrell) 5:15
06. Free-Bass (Godzillatron Cush) (written by B Laswell, B Collins, Dennis Weeden) 5:43
07. Tell The World (written by B Collins, Maceo Parker, Sylvester Stewart) 3:53
08. Pray My Soul (written by G Cook) 5:08
09. Hideous Mutant Freekz (written by G Clinton, B Collins, B Worrell, B Laswell) 7:25
10. Sax Machine (written by B Collins, M Parker, Bobby Byrd) 7:47
11. Animal Behavior (written by B Laswell, B Collins, Buckethead) 7:09
12. Trumpets And Violins, Violins (written by Jimi Hendrix) 3:38
13. Telling Time (written by Nicky Skopelitis) 4:57
14. Jungle Free-Bass (written by B Laswell, B Collins) 5:38
15. Blackout (written by DeWayne “Blackbyrd” McKnight) 3:44
16. Sacred To The Pain (written by G Cook, Umar Bin Hassan) 4:54

-for a full list of players and musicians by track click here
-review via (Amy Hanson)


~ by cdowell4 on June 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: