The Doors & Albert King – Vancouver PNE Arena – June 6th, 1970

The Doors & Albert King
06/06/1970 Vancouver PNE Arena, Vancouver, BC

Set: Roadhouse Blues, Back Door Man > Five to One, When the Music’s Over, Who Do You Love*, Light My Fire > Fever > Light My Fire, The End
* w/ Albert King

Just a year before his tragic death, Jim Morrison and The Doors joined forces with legendary bluesman, Albert King, for an extraordinary show in Vancouver, BC.  Perhaps at the peak of their live musical careers, the band sounds as tight and trippy as ever.  Coming off the release of their 1970 classic, Morrison Hotel, the band appropriately opens with the album staple, “Roadhouse Blues”, beckoning Morrison to howl, “I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer!”  Robbie Kreiger asserts his Epytian-bluesy guitar riffs throughout the mix while the band rips into the haunting “Back Door Man > Five to One.”  In true Doors’ fashion, the band plunges into deep psychedelia on one of the bands eeriest tracks, “When the Music’s Over.”

Albert King joins the band onstage to rawkus applause for a sludgy version of “Who Do You Love?”  Make sure you pay extra close attention to King’s masterful slidework on the guitar – There’s a reason why the legend is often coined “The King of the Delta Blues.”  Ray Manzarek’s keyboard oozes translucent organ voicings on the 17 minute showstopper, “Light My Fire > Fever > Light My Fire”, and the group slithers into another beautifully haunting epic, “The End”, to close the show.  This recording is an absolute must download for any fans of The Doors out there.

~ by cdowell4 on June 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Doors & Albert King – Vancouver PNE Arena – June 6th, 1970”

  1. legend jimi hendrix 40 years ago…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. Best concert of my life. I couldn’t believe it when the cd came out.

Leave a Reply

 
