Widespread Panic – Dirty Side Down Set For May 25th Release

01. Saint Ex
02. North
03. Dirty Side Down
04. St. Louis
05. Shut Up and Drive
06. This Cruel Thing
07. Visiting Day
08. Clinic Cynic
09. True to My Nature
10. When You Comin’ Home?
11. Jaded Tourist
12. Cotton Was King

Dirty Side Down, the 11th studio album from Widespread Panic is set for a May 25 release on ATO Records. Dirty Side Down is comprised of 12 songs that incorporate Panic’s unique blend of rock, jazz and blues inspired textures into songs flowing with melody, rhythm and emotion.

After 24 years, Widespread Panic remain one of America’s best live bands, and most successful touring acts. Aside from their legendary live shows, they continue to raise the bar in their genre through their songwriting, and Dirty Side Down is a prime example. Band members John Bell (vocals/guitar), John Herman (keyboards/vocals), Jimmy Herring (lead guitar), Todd Nance (drums/vocals), Domingo Ortiz (percussion) and Dave Schools (bass/vocals) combine their efforts by writing, or co-writing, 10 of the album’s 12 tracks.

Songs, such as the dark, multi-layered opener “Saint Ex,” the boogie blues of “Jaded Tourist” or the laid back Southern nature of “When You Comin’ Home” showcase Widespread Panic’s dynamic range as songwriters and musicians.

One of the highlights of Dirty Side Down is the hauntingly beautiful cover of “This Cruel Thing” written by the late Vic Chesnutt, whose songs the band has recorded and performed for years. Widespread Panic has previously collaborated with Chesnutt on two albums under the name Brute. “I guess Widespread Panic and Vic aren’t quite done with each other yet,” says Panic lead singer John Bell.

Dirty Side Down was produced John Keane along with Widespread Panic. Keane also engineered, mixed and mastered the album, as well as contributed pedal steel and acoustic guitar.

Widespread Panic Tourdates


~ by cdowell4 on March 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: